Important Note

We are flattered by imitators, but as a word of caution, if you find any sites similar to ours, they are in no way affiliated to us. If you want to experience the original Guangzhou walking tours and travel like a local, book your tours with us now

Follow Us

Follow JANVI TOURS on Facebook

Follow JANVI TOURS on Twitter

Follow JANVI TOURS on YouTube

Search Online

Recommended By


Visitors Online

We have 26 guests online
Home Informations Introdution Of Guangzhou A history of Hui Fu East Road

A history of Hui Fu East Road

HuiFu Road East

Located at the central section of Yuexiu District in Guangzhou, the length of Hui Fu East Road is 511 meters, with the Beijing Commercial Pedestrian Street in its east and Guangzhou Uprising Road in its west. In Qing Dynasty, it was named as Shiqian Street because it located in front of a buddhist temple. In 1919, because of the new extension of the Shiqian street, it was merged with Hui Fu Lane (named after the Hui Fu Lady Temple), so it was named Hui Fu Road. In 1966, in order to express the revolutionary enthusiasm of 'My Heart to the Sun', the road was called as 'Xiangyang Road'. But in 1981, it was renamed as Hui Fu East Road.

The origin of the name, HuiFu East Road, is closely related to a Guangzhou unique goddess-Jinhua Lady. During 1328 to 1398, a governor 's wife in Guangzhou was trapped in dystocia. The governor tried his best searched doctors to save his wife in Guangzhou, but he failed. Mysteriously, one night, there was a white-haired fairy man in his dream, who said that if he can find the Jinhua lady, his wife and child could be in safety. When he woke up with a start, he immediately looked for Hua lady. Finally, they found a about ten-years old girl in the street, named Jinhua. The girl was sent to the governor's home, with fear and confusion on her face.  However, with the girl's arrival, the governor's wife gave a birth to his son in safety. Happy as the governor was, so he gave reward to the little Jinhua and named her as Jinhua goddess.

With the miraculous thing spreading quickly, the little Jinhua was regarded as goddess. Lots of pregnant women prayed for bless from her. However, with the growth of Jinhua, nobody dared to get married with her, the living goddess. Unhappily, she finally chose to suicide in the lake. The following day, her body float above the lake with a float yellow agilawood nearby, which extremely look like her. Thus, the villagers consecrated the agilawood and named it as Jinhua goddess. Later, the descendant built up Jinhua Temple and named the street as Huifu alley, which finally was  renamed as Huifu road.

Regarding the Hui Fu East Road, the most famous building there is unquestionably Guangzhou Dafo Temple. Based on historical records, in the the time of Yongzheng (an Emperor in Qing Dynasty), the Dafo Temple, implicit in the big city, enjoyed extensive popularities in its golden age. At that time, it was listed as one of the "The Five Great Temples" (inclusive of Dafo Temple, Guangxiao Temple, Huilin Temple, HaiChuang Temple and Changshou Temple(disappeared totally in nowadays) ). The 'Conglin' means the residence of the monks.

Food court on HuiFu Road East

Nearby the Beijing Pedestrian Street, Hui Fu East Road is also a commercial district for its own prosperity. There are lots of restaurants, which attract plenty of people, so it is a well-known food court.

Hanging on the Hui Fu East Road, with lots of green trees, special temple and various food, obviously, it is an amazing experience there.